Photo by from Pexels

Did y’all know:

  • Jack Nicklaus is the oldest to win The Masters at 46. The Golden Bear also has the most wins with 6. Tiger Woods win last year put him at 5.
  • Tiger Woods is the youngest winner of The Masters at 21. He has 4 wins
  • In 1949, the first Green Jacket was awarded to that year’s Masters champion, Sam Snead.
  • Amen Corner refers to holes No. 11, 12 and 13. In 1958, a Sports Illustrated writer, Herbert Warren Wind, named the second half of hole No. 11, hole No. 12 and the first half of hole No. 13 Amen Corner. This is where the critical action took place that year. He borrowed the name from an old jazz recording called “Shouting at Amen Corner.”
  • The pine tree is the most abundant tree at Augusta. But, the oldest tree is said to be “The Big Oak” by the clubhouse thought to be between 145-150 years old.
  • It is considered bad luck to sign a Masters flag inside of the US outline if you haven’t won. That area is considered reserved for winners only.
  • No one ever won the Par 3 and the Masters. Sandy Lyle won this year’s Par 3.
  • The tournament was not played during the years 1943, 1944 and 1945 because of World War II. To help with the war effort, turkey and cattle were raised on the Augusta National Grounds. This year it has been postponed , but, not yet canceled.
  • No amateur has ever win the Masters.
  • Each hole is named after a plant or shrub.
  • The first sudden death playoff in the Masters came in 1979. Three men played 72 holes with -8 280 scores, forcing the playoff. Ed Sneed and Tom Watson went par-par, but it was not enough, as Fuzzy Zoeller went par-birdie to win the Green Jacket. He would become the third person to win the Masters in his first attempt and the first since Gene Sarazen in 1935.
  • Nick Faldo holds the record for longest putt at 50 feet
  • Tiger Woods set the record for the widest winning margin (12 strokes), and the lowest winning score, with 270, 18 below par (-18) in 1997. The latter was equaled by Jordan Spieth in 2015.
  • The highest winning score of 289 (+1) was originally set by Sam Snead in 1954, it was equalled by Jack Burke Jr. in 1956, and Zach Johnson in 2007.
  • Five golfers have won the Masters wire-to-wire; Craig Wood in 1941, Arnold Palmer in 1960, Nicklaus in 1972, Raymond Floyd in 1976, and Jordan Spieth in 2015.